Introductory Statements

Hello to anyone who might be reading this!

It seems like in the ever-present Internet world, pretty much everyone has some sort of a blog with which they can share feelings, messages or even recipes. I figure it’s time to jump on the bandwagon. Putting your heart on a sleeve can be therapeutic, and yes, even necessary at times for redemption.

So during the life of this blog I may share things about my Christian walk, my stumbling blocks, music, sports, pretty much anything that might be going on in my life. I hope that nothing I talk about comes across as mindless or shallow, but I have been accused of being both at times.

That said, I start off on a rough note. Today I got hit hard in the face by past sins of mine. There was a time in my life that I am not proud of at all, and while I know God can use even our biggest sins for His glory, it’s a period that I would rather not keep re-living over and over again. Yet the skeletons in my closet keep deciding to pop up at the most inopportune (or perhaps most opportune) moments.

The Bible verse of the day (which I get in my work E-mail from votd.org) is Psalm 100:2-3, which reads “Know that the Lord, He is God; it is He who has made us, and not we ourselves. We are His people and the sheep of His pasture.” This verse hit me square in the gut, because it forced me to look at my own lack of humility recently. When life seems to be going well, it’s easy for me to take all of the credit. I’ve never been short on confidence, even when I don’t have anything to be confident about. But I always straddle that fine line between confident/optimistic and prideful/arrogant.

So I guess my prayer for today is that God would grant me humility however He deems necessary, so that I would realize that He gives me all the wonderful things I have and to not take them for granted. The skeletons in my closet take for granted all of the joys and wonderful things I have in my open world, and I pray that those are the desires of my heart. In seeking God, I think I will find those things as well.

Leave a Reply

