Do What Your Daddy Tells You

As WIFE and I continue our reading through the Bible this year, certain things tend to jump out at me, depending on what’s going on in life around me. Usually it’s a particular verse, or the backstory of a man that I had never really studied before. This blog post is about the general nature of an entire book.

We just finished 2 Kings, and let me tell you, Israel and Judah had a bunch of kings. After reading the book, I really wish I knew where “the annals of the kings of Israel” and “the annals of the kings of Judah” were, because apparently everything you need to know is in those, right? I mean, God wouldn’t have taken the things He wanted us to know and put them in His book, would He?

I kid, but really it seems like with many of the kings in this book their reigns can be summed up with one line: “He did evil/good in the eyes of the Lord.” I went through and tallied up the kings in this book, and of all the kings of Israel and Judah, only 7 can be said that they did good in the eyes of the Lord. Eighteen kings are said to have done evil in the eyes of the Lord, mainly following in the sins of one Jeroboam, who after reading this book I have to believe would be in Dante’s seventh circle of hell for all of the people he led astray in betrayal of the Lord.

But as Mother’s Day has come and gone, reading this book has really emphasized to me just how important it is to have Godly role models. Many of these kings who did either good or evil did so because they “walked in the way of their father.” As a father to an infant, this realization has taken hold of me. It’s obvious that the example of a parent can be a HUGE factor in how their children live. Parents influence their kids on things from anywhere to sports teams (thanks to my dad I’m both a Yankees fan and a Cowboys fan, and am therefore hated by at least 90% of sports fans on some level) to what’s most important in life (success or happiness, and trust me, there is a distinct difference between the two).

Most importantly, our parents influence our spiritual behavior as well. Those parents who are committed to bringing up their children in a Godly home, where roles are clearly defined by His Word and carried out by the dad and mom, are more likely to see the success found in Proverbs 22:6, which says, “Train a child in the way he should go, and when he’s old he will not depart from it.” That means following God’s commands explicitly and without reservation. That means if God says something in His book, you write it on your heart.

Though my little girl likely has no concept of what it means to be a Godly woman, as her dad I’d sure better, so that when she’s old enough to understand I can teach her what God wants of her. But on a personal level, I need to make sure I’m in line with what God wants of me, so that if my daughter “walks in the way of her father” I won’t be ashamed, but instead proud that she is who God has called her to be. And that would be “good in the eyes of the Lord.”

One response to this post.

  1. I am glad you are my little girl's daddy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

