I Know God Cares. Does the Devil?

You ever have one of those weeks where it seems like you are under significant spiritual attack? I’m having one of those this weeks.

It started at work. Last Friday my computer basically blew up on me. It turns out that the hard drive was massively corrupted and they had to replace it. I was without all of my stuff for 3 1/2 business days, including information on a project I’m being paid for outside of work. I thought I had lost all of that information and was going to have to start over. What a drag.

Then on Monday night/Tuesday morning, I couldn’t fall asleep because I had some tremendous back pain. In fact, it was so bad that I ended up vomiting twice from the pain. WIFE seriously thought I might be having a heart attack, though I’m pretty sure it was just ridiculous back spasms. Ended up losing a lot of sleep and still having some residual pain, though it’s been much better since.

Then Tuesday morning, heading out to the driveway to leave for work, I found the passenger-side window to my car bashed in. It looks like someone tried to steal the car, because the ignition cap was popped off. I can’t believe they didn’t get it, because the car doesn’t have an alarm. But now we are sans one car until the window can get replaced.

I told WIFE after the car incident something to the effect of, “I must be doing something to tick off the devil, because he’s working me really hard right now.” Even as I thought of that, it gave me comfort to know that I am in God’s arms through all of this. 1 Corinthians 10:13 feels applicable right now: “No temptation has seized you except what is common to man. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can stand up under it.” It would be super easy for me to just get angry and depressed about everything. Yet as WIFE took me to work on Tuesday, we both just had peace about the whole situation, because we knew God would work it out.

And it seems He is doing that. He is blessing us with opportunities at church. I got my computer back at work yesterday, and from when they initially told me they weren’t going to be able to recover anything, they recovered ALL of my files, including the paid job ones. The thieves didn’t steal the car, probably because our motion lights scared them off, or maybe it was something else, we don’t know. I just get the feeling like God protected that car for us. We’re able to manage fine on one car, and this gives us a chance to see how it’s going to work when we return our leased car in November and are down to one car for a couple of months.

So Satan, if you’re reading this, nice shots. You almost had me down. But I’ve got someone in my corner who’s tougher than you, and He’s taken over the fight for me. You lose; He wins. Thanks God for caring enough about me to fight my battles. I love you.

Leave a Reply

